16 + 1 FORMAT

“16+1 cooperation” is a platform to deepen mutually beneficial cooperation between China and 16 Central and Eastern European Countries (CEECs), namely: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia, and thus advance China-EU Comprehensive Strategic Partnership.     
According to Medium-term Agenda for Cooperation between China and Central and Eastern European Countries and in accordance with other relevant China-EU strategic documents, one of the important fields of this cooperation is area of innovation, R&D and technology transfer.